One Month Down

Well, I’ve officially been going to the gym and watching my calories for four weeks now, so I thought I’d give a report.I’ve lost roughly 6.5 inches (with a very exciting 2.5 from the waist) and just shy of seven pounds.

Woot!

After going from hardly any exercise to 5-6 days a week of exercise I encountered some tendentious, Pes Anserinus Tendinitis. I tried to kid myself into thinking I only needed to take a couple days off, but as soon as I got back on that treadmill it hurt. I ran through the pain, but I’m pretty sure because of that I had to take more time off of the treadmill than I would’ve if I would’ve just rested it. So, I ended up spending a week doing other types of exercise, either doing the bike or a combination of the elliptical and then the bike. I also learned some massage techniques using a foam roller and some additional stretches that seem to really help. 
 
As of this week, I’m back on the tread and things are feeling good so far (fingers crossed). 
 
Anyhoosier, things this last week and a half have been a little bit discouraging because I haven’t seen the scale shimmy on down like I had that first couple of weeks. I think there’s just a combination of things at play there and am trying not to get discouraged, especially when I can feel and see results. 
 
I was telling the hubster last night that I have three goals. One is a very reasonable goal, one is a middle goal and one is a dream goal (though not the ultimate ultimate dream goal). He said, “Why not just go for the dream?” And I thought, “Yeah, he’s got a point.” Though, I am a big believer that you should set incremental goals so you can celebrate successes as you go. I’m a 1.5 pounds away from my first incremental goal – which was the weight I was when I got pregnant. Hopefully I’ll be able to report back my success soon! 
Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “One Month Down

  1. dani says:

    You are so awesome!! I am half dreading half excited to get back to working out and losing the baby weight… and i love my foam roller! it KILLS when you use it but everything feels so much better the next day 🙂

  2. Alexa Lougee says:

    Aw thanks Dani! I didn't realize how tender your muscles can be until I was using that. I tell Eric, "It hurts so good!" I'm excited for the arrival of your little boy, good luck!

Leave a comment